Virginia Course Catalog

 
Requirements Overview
8
Mandatory Hours
8 Elective Hours
16 Total Hours
License Renewal
Period: 2 Year(s)
 
Packages Approval # Total Hours Elective Hours Mandatory Hours Sale Price
16 Hr. Virginia Salesperson CE Renewal Package #1
Package 16 8 8 $125
16 Hr. Virginia Salesperson CE Renewal Package #2
Package 16 8 8 $125
8 Hr. Virginia CE Mandatory Package
Package 8 8 $79
9 hr. VA Electives Only Commercial Package
Package 9 9 $108
Individual Courses Approval # Total Hours Elective Hours Mandatory Hours Sale Price
1 Hr. Virginia Agency Law (On-line)
16992 1 1 $10
1 Hr. Virginia Contract Law (On-line)
17146 1 1 $10
1 Hr. Virginia Legal Updates (On-line)
19517 1 1 $10
2 Hr. Virginia Fair Housing (On-line)
16988 2 2 $19
Online Risk Management (On-line)
15621 4 4 $49
Advocating for Short Sale Clients (On-line)
17166 3 3 $29
Basics of Real Estate Taxation (On-line)
16975 4 4 $49
Breaking Barriers: Fair Housing (On-line)
18765 3 3 $29
Code of Ethics: Good For Your Clients and Your Business
19660 3 3 $29
Diversity: Your Kaleidoscope of Clients (On-line)
18799 3 3 $29
Foundations of Real Estate Finance (On-line)
16980 4 4 $49
From Contract to Keys: The Mortgage Process (On-line)
16983 4 4 $49
Going Green: The Environmental Movement in Real Estate (On-line)
19855 4 4 $49
Hot Market Strategies (On-line)
18562 3 3 $29
Real Estate Investors and Your Business (On-line)
15083 4 4 $49
Roadmap to Success - Business Planning for Real Estate Professionals (On-line)
13327 4 4 $49
Selling to Your Sphere of Influence (On-line)
16984 3 3 $29
Title and Escrow: Two Families, One Transaction (On-line)
18800 4 4 $49
Uncle Sam has Homes for Sale: Listing and Selling HUD Homes (On-line)
13329 4 4 $49
Anatomy of Commercial Building (On-line)
17913 3 3 $35
Client Advocacy in Commercial Real Estate (On-line)
18517 3 3 $35
Commercial Ethics
19857 3 3 $35
Commercial Landlord Representation (On-line)
18269 3 3 $35
Determining Value of Commercial Properties
18268 3 3 $35
Investment Strategies in Commercial Real Estate (On-line)
18514 3 3 $35
The Fundamentals of Commercial Real Estate (On-line)
17914 3 3 $35
Career Extras
All of the courses below are NOT APPROVED for continuing education credit in your state, but are great for building your business
Total Hours Elective Hours Mandatory Hours Sale Price
Conducting Open Houses and Developing a Safety Plan
2 None None $19
Did You Serve? Identifying Homebuying Advantages for Veterans
3 None None $29
New Lending Rules: Ability-to-Repay, Qualified Mortgages and Appraisal Transparency
1 None None $5
The Ins and Outs of Transit Oriented Developments: Why you Should Understand this Niche Market
1 None None $5

Virginia Requirement Details

The CE Shop is an approved Real Estate Proprietary School in Virginia: Code/Approval Number: 0211000328 (four digit code: 0328) and 0234000100 (Fair Housing Proprietary School)

Renewal Date: Every 2 years on the last day of the month two years from the date in which the original license was granted.

Hours required: 16 hours for Salespersons (8 elective, 8 mandatory).

CE Shop Offering: 16 hours for Salespersons

Seat time: Per Virginia DPOR, 18 VAC 135-20-350 (Definitions) of the Real Estate Board's Regulations (Part VI - Schools) defines "Class hour/Clock hour" as "50 minutes."  Thus, the Board requires that its licensees spend at least 50 minutes "on the computer" in online distance education courses to receive one CE/PLE credit hour. The course system will track your participation time as well as count down the minimum time required.

Reporting: Real estate course completions are reported to the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR) each business day. It will take a minimum of 2 business days from the time we report your hours before the Commission updates your license and/or updates their website with the hours. Please be patient with this process and understand that it may vary depending on your state. Course completion(s) are reported on the designated and publicly posted scheduled days. Course completion(s) will be reported the following scheduled reporting day from the course completion date(s).

Please enter your individual license number correctly and fully when prompted in the registration process to ensure the reporting of your hours takes place. Virginia license numbers should be ten (10) digits and usually start with 0225.

Expiration date of course: Course expiration dates vary by course but are generally one year after order date. Each individual course will have an expiration date listed in your account.

Please note: Access to the course Today's MLS: New Paradigms, Better Results, will be available until 12/31/2014. Only order this course if you are confident you will be able to complete it by this date.  

Post Licensing: For SALES licensees who are renewing their license for the FIRST time, please refer to the Post-Licensing Course Catalog. At the top of this page, you may switch from Continuing Education to Post Licensing.

*Important Notice: If any CE courses are taken while you are in the post-licensing renewal cycle the course completion will not count toward either your post-licensing or CE renewal requirement and cannot be reported. 

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with a 75% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass. 

Certificates: Immediately upon real estate course completion, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic copy of the course Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five (5) years, should you need additional copies at a later time. Please refer to your renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate(s) of Completion with your renewal. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date on your certificates of completion will reflect this.

*Important Notice: In addition to the electronic signature you will complete in our system for each course, pursuant to 54.1-2105.03.A.3 of the Code of Virginia, every licensee must complete, notarize, and file a Student Affidavit form as a condition to receive CE/PLE credit for each online course. Once you have completed this step, please retain the form in your own personal student records in the event that you should be audited by the state.

Please enter your individual license number correctly and fully when prompted in the registration process.

Still have questions? Visit our Frequently Asked Questions or Contact Us 

Click here for licensing and regulatory agency information